Kingstonian Chosen as Judge for British Columbia Non-Fiction Award

Published on: 2017/10/04 - in News

English Bay, Vancouver, BC

The Board of Directors of the BC Achievement Foundation has announced this year’s jurors for British Columbia’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, and the list includes the former Chair of the Kingston WritersFest Board, Jan Walter.

She and two other judges, Eliza Reid and Rick Antonson, will decide the best works of Canadian non-fiction in the 14th year for this prestigious award.

On November 1st, judges will announce the award longlist, followed with the shortlist being revealed on December 1st, 2017. Shortlisted authors will be honoured at a presentation ceremony in Vancouver (pictured) in early 2018 where the winner will be announced.

“Once again we look to the experience and wisdom of our esteemed jury to help celebrate the inspired writing of 2018 nominees. Another treasure trove for readers and writers alike,” said Scott McIntyre, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation, in a release.

Jan Walter is a returning juror to these awards and the 2018 award’s Jury Chair. According to her Kingston WritersFest author page, Jan has spent her life around books: selling, acquiring, editing, publishing, promoting. In 1988, along with Gary Ross and John Macfarlane, Walter launched Macfarlane, Walter & Ross, which became one of Canada’s premier publishers of quality non-fiction, publishing over 60 award-winning and bestselling titles.

Read the entire release at Business Insider

Photo (English Bay, Vancouver, BC) via Flickr (cc)