Kasador Launches First Full-Length Album: ‘Brood & Bloom’

Published on: 2019/10/04 - in Entertainment

Today, Kingston-based Kasador released their long anticipated debut full-length album, ‘Brood & Bloom‘ – a 12 track collection by the alt-rockers encompassing more than 2 years of work. The new album follows the band’s 2016 self-titled EP ‘KASADOR’ and a 2-track single ‘Come Get Yer Money’ in 2017.

The ‘Brood & Bloom’ title track single previously hit #27 for Canadian alternative radio and #37 for Canadian rock radio, making Kasador the only independent band in the top 40 at the time.

Cutting their teeth touring throughout Canada and the USA during their first 3 years, the band performed almost 200 shows in just one year and a half period. More recent shows included opening  a 2018 hometown concert for fellow Kingstonians, The Glorious Sons, and last month’s Rockin’ the Big House, where Kasador opened for Headstones, Tom Cochrane, The Trews, The Pursuit of Happiness, and members of the Tragically Hip at the former Kingston Penitentiary.

In interviews promoting Brood & Bloom‘s release, the band told Global Kingston host – and former MuchMusic VJ – Bill Welychka that Rockin’ the Big House was “the most Kingston day ever” and described the experience to the Queen’s Journal as ‘surreal’.

“We had to keep checking ourselves,” lead guitarist Cam Wyatt told the Journal. “You could see photos from 100 years ago, when they had private concerts in there.”

Enlisting the help of producers Graham Walsh of Holy F*ck, and Rob Baker and Gord Sinclair of The Tragically Hip, ‘Brood & Bloom’ was “written through tough times and trying to find something more positive from those experiences.” The album was engineered at nearby Bathouse Recording Studios by Nyles Spencer (Half Moon Run, Sam Roberts Band, Arkells, The Strumbellas), mixed by Mark Vreeken (King Crimson, Leonard Cohen, and Neil Young), and mastered at Gateway Mastering Studios by Adam Ayan (The Rolling Stones, Foo Fighters, Bruce Springsteen, Rush, Paul McCartney and Pearl Jam).

In an extensive review by A Journal of Musical Things, Amber Healy writes “This album has substance. It has weight. And it’s incredible.”  Her bottom line: “Keep an eye on Kasador and check out one of their shows if you haven’t yet. It will be well worth the time — they’re just about to break and this album will go a long way toward that end.”

Kasador has announced a number of concerts in support of the album, launching October 17 at Oshawa’s Music Hall Concert Theatre and including shows in Ottawa, Toronto, and Montreal. Visit the band’s tour page for these and future concert dates.

UPDATE:  Kasador have announced they will perform in concert at The Ale House in Kingston on December 20th. TICKET INFO

Stream and purchase Brood & Bloom here

Find out more about Kasador:
Website | Twitter | Instagram | Spotify

Watch the title track’s music video:

Brood & Bloom Tracklisting

1. Brood & Bloom
2. Come Get Yer Money
3. High Rise
4. Waiting
5. Guns Love & Money
6. Vacant Sign
7. Given It Up
8. Again For Me
9. Pinched Nerve
10. I Believe Terribly
11. Could’ve Loved You
12. Undone

Photo (cropped): Brood & Bloom album cover