The Tragically Hip Release 25th Anniversary ‘Day for Night’ Albums

Published on: 2019/07/26 - in Entertainment

The Tragically Hip have announced the 25th anniversary re-release of their 1994 album, Day for Night, in two versions – a special silver vinyl edition and a half speed master edition.

The band’s fourth album, and their first to hit #1 on the Canadian Albums Chart, the Day for Night anniversary half speed master version will be cut by sound engineer Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios in London.

Showell described the process and benefits of half speed mastering in a 2017 interview, explaining that the vinyl is physically ‘cut’ at half speed to allow for better quality sound, particularly high frequencies that cut like mid-range sound at half speed.

Released in September 1994, Day for Night was produced by Mark Howard and recorded at Kingsway Studio in New Orleans and Le Cave de Dave in Kingston. It eventually went on to become certified platinum 7 times in Canada.

One notable event while promoting the album came the following year when the band appeared as the music guest on Saturday Night Live, introduced by Kingston area celebrity and original SNL cast member, Dan Aykroyd.

The Hip opened with the Day for Night single ‘Grace, Too’ (below) and later performed Nautical Disaster (video).

The two 25th anniversary vinyl versions will be available on September 27, 2019 and can be pre-ordered now at store page.

Track listing:

Side One

1. Grace, Too
2. Daredevil
3. Greasy Jungle

Side Two

1. Fire In The Hole
2. So Hard Done By
3. Nautical Disaster
4. Thugs

Side Three

1. Inevitability of Death
2. Scared
3. An Inch An Hour

Side Four

1. Emergency
2. Titanic Terrarium
3. Impossibilium