Queen’s University Announces Accessibility Awards

Published on: 2011/04/07 - in Releases

This week, Queen’s University announced that Jeanette Parsons (Director – Dean’s Office, School of Graduate Studies), Julie Harmgardt (Artsci’12), and Leela Viswanathan (Assisant Professor in the School of Urban and Regional Planning) are this year’s recipients of the Steve Cutway Accessibility Awards.

The award, established in 2008, recognizes the efforts of students, staff, and faculty who demonstrate creativity, innovation, enthusiasm and compassion in creating learning and work environments that allow persons with disabilities to enjoy full participation.

The Accessibility Award is named in honour of Steve Cutway, a long-time Queen’ employee and alumni who, over a span of nearly 36 years, gave generously of his time and commitment in advancing accessibility for students and employees with disabilities. For more information about the award visit the Equity Office website.


Release source: Queen’s University News Centre

Photo: (Left to right) Jeanette Parsons, Steve Cutway, Julie Harmgardt and Leela Viswanathan at the Steve Cutway Accessibility Award ceremony at the Robert Sutherland Room in the JDUC on April 5.