Kingston Author Named 2021 Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalist

Published on: 2021/10/19 - in News

The Canada Council for the Arts and C2C Communications have announced that Kingston author Sadiqa de Meijer is a finalists in this year’s prestigious Governor General’s Literary Awards.

70 books were chosen as the best to have been published in Canada in 2021, across seven categories, in both French and English.

Recognized in the Non-Fiction category, de Meijer’s novel ‘alfabet/alphabet: a memoir of a first language‘ is the record of her transition from speaking Dutch to English: “Exploring questions of identity, landscape, family, and translation, the essays navigate the shifting cultural currents of language by using an eclectic approach to storytelling.”

Sadiqa is a previous GGBooks finalist in the Poetry category for her notable poems, won the CBC Canada Writes Poetry Prize for ‘Great Aunt Unmarried,’ and her debut poetry collection ‘Leaving Howe Island‘ was also finalist for the 2014 Governor General’s Award for English-language poetry.

“Each time we prepare to unveil the Governor General’s Literary Awards, which recognize and celebrate some of the year’s greatest works of literature from Canada, I am struck by the talent, imagination and creativity of the individuals who bring these books into our lives,” said Simon Brault, Director and CEO, Canada Council for the Arts. “Given the many challenges we’ve all faced over the past nineteen months, I am especially grateful and humbled to honour these authors and their work. Literature can serve many purposes and in the midst of these uncertain times, as we witness the ongoing transformation of our society, I trust in the power of these incredible books to heal, connect and continue to move us forward.”

Founded in 1936, the Governor General’s Literary Awards are some of Canada’s oldest and most prestigious prizes, with a total annual prize value of $450,000. Each winner receives $25,000, with the publisher receiving $3,000 to promote the winning book. Finalists receive $1,000 each.

The 14 winners for 2021 will be announced on on November 17, 2021.

Image: submitted