Official Results Announced for 2018 Municipal Election

Published on: 2018/10/25 - in News

Kingston Google satellite over City Hall

The City of Kingston has released the official results of this week’s municipal election where 34,526 or 41.3% of eligible electors cast their votes.

The City notes that almost 13,000 people voted online in Kingston, which is 4,000 more than the approximately 9,000 who voted online in 2014.  Online voter numbers might have been higher this year, but internet voting went offline in some communities including Kingston, where voting locations were kept open longer to allow for casting ballots in person.

Even with the internet glitch, city clerk and returning officer John Bolognone reported in a release that online voting increased by 38.4% and there was a 38.8% increase in participation on Advance Voting Day over 2014.

Voting results can be found below. More detail on these results can be found at

Ballot Question

Are you in favour of using Ranked Ballot Voting to elect the Mayor and District Councillors in the City of Kingston?
* Yes – 20,642 or 63 per cent
* No – 12,161 or 37 per cent

As less than 50 per cent of the electorate voted, these results are not binding on the new council.


Bryan Paterson elected

City Councillors

  • Countryside District #1 – Gary Oosterhof elected.
  • Loyalist-Cataraqui District #2 – Simon Chapelle elected.
  • Collins-Bayridge District #3 – Lisa Osanic elected.
  • Lakeside District #4 – Wayne Hill elected.
  • Portsmouth District #5 – Bridget Doherty elected.
  • Trillium District #6 – Robert Kiley elected.
  • Kingscourt-Rideau District #7 – Mary Rita Holland elected.
  • Meadowbrook-Strathcona District #8 – Jeff McLaren elected.
  • Williamsville District #9 – Jim Neill elected.
  • Sydenham District #10 – Peter Stroud elected.
  • King’s Town District #11 – Rob Hutchison elected.
  • Pittsburgh District #12 – Ryan Boehme acclaimed.

English Language Public School Board Trustees

  • Countryside, Pittsburgh & Frontenac Islands – Bob Godkin elected.
  • Loyalist-Cataraqui, Collins-Bayridge & Lakeside – Judith Brown elected.
  • Portsmouth, Trillium & Meadowbrook-Strathcona – Garrett Elliott elected.
  • Williamsville & Sydenham – Joy Morning elected.
  • Kingscourt-Rideau & King’s Town – Tom Gingrich acclaimed.

English Language Separate School Board Trustee Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic District School Board

Brian Evoy, Michael Murphy, Terry Shea and Kathy Turkington elected.

French Language Public School Boad Trustee/Conseillère Scolaire Du Conseil Des Écoles Publiques De Langue Française Le Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est de l’Ontario – région géographique 2

Rachel Laforest est élue par acclamation.

French Language Separate School Board Trustee/Conseiller Scolaire Du Conseil Des Écoles Séparées De Langue Française Le Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est

Michel Charron est élu.

Image: Google