Avril Lavigne Releases New Music Video, Engages Fans on Twitter

Published on: 2018/12/13 - in Entertainment

Singer-songwriter Avril Lavigne released a new song and music video (below) from her upcoming album on Wednesday – “Tell Me It’s Over” is the second track to be released from the Napanee-raised superstar’s 6th album, “Head Above Water”.

Avril described Tell Me It’s Over as an “anthem about being strong, finally putting your foot down and closing the door on a relationship that you
know is wrong after time and time again of falling for their games.”

“If someone doesn’t treat you the way you deserve to be treated, don’t put up with it.” she continued.”It’s understandably so hard because in the past every time you saw them, they sucked you in and you fell right back into their web, but not anymore starting now! The vocals and the lyrics are very vulnerable which is reflective of the feelings I had in relationships like these.”

The song came about from Lavigne’s desire to write something classic that was inspired by some of the ‘timeless queens’ she listens to everyday at home, including Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin and Etta James.

Album cover art

Head Above Water, the first of twelve songs from the album to be released, has received over 125 million global streams to date.

“I feel like I’ve really opened up on this record more than I ever have before,” Avril says of the album. “Each song tells a story that will hopefully inspire others to believe in themselves and stand up for what they know is right and what they truly deserve!”

Lavigne also unveiled the album’s cover art, title and track list for Head Above Water yesterday, with the album due on February 15 via BMG and available for preorder now.

Following Wednesday’s music video premiere on Youtube, the singer took to Twitter where she engaged in a Q&A with fans.

You can read all the questions and Avril’s responses here

For the latest information, visit Avril on:
AvrilLavigne.com | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

To learn more about Lyme Disease and Avril’s charitable efforts, visit the Avril Lavigne Foundation.

1.      Head Above Water
2.      Birdie
3.      I Fell In Love With The Devil
4.      Tell Me It’s Over
5.      Dumb Blonde
6.      It Was In Me
7.      Souvenir
8.      Crush
9.      Goddess
10.  Bigger Wow
11.  Love Me Insane
12.  Warrior